Archive | 9:45 am

The True Meaning of Action

26 Mar

Action. Sounds so innocuous. But what is it? As I prepare to talk about taking ACTION at Celebrate Recovery this week at First Baptist Church in downtown Dallas, I have been thinking a lot about this word. Dictionary.com defines action as “the process or state of acting or of being active” or “something done or performed; act; deed.” Clearly, actions are something we DO. Another definition describes actions as a physical or mental act that we consciously will. In other words, we cannot “act” against our own will. Our actions are chosen, not passive. Our actions can feel huge – say changing jobs – yet, make no more than a small impact on our lives in the long run. Or, they can seem teeny-tiny – say eating right one meal at a time – and make a lasting, positive impact on our health and longevity. We don’t always know what our actions will bring about before we take them. But, often times, we do have at least a rough idea.

So why then do we so regularly fail to take an action when we know it will help us? For example, I am always thinking or talking about going to the gym, but I almost never take the action to actually get there. I spent years saying I should take a class, go back to school to finally get that degree, and get a better job, but then I’d watch “just one more” episode of whatever on Netflix instead. We know beyond a doubt that actions like these will only help improve us, yet we do not act, we do not will. We say things to ourselves like “I’ll do it later” or “Yeah, I really need to do that”. But, we don’t. Or, we say we are waiting to decide. I can spend months wasting my gym membership, trying to decide which class fits my schedule. Just like I spent years in an unfulfilling career because I did not register in school. These choices, what seemed like inaction, were actually actions, too, though. Choosing to watch TV or continue unhealthy behavior is an active choice.

What about the actions we take that we know full well we should not? I wasted so much time doing what I knew I should not. Enabling my former husband’s addiction because I did not want to face and deal with my co-dependency. Or eating terrible foods, knowing that they will have a negative effect on my health. These were actions, too. Enabling, eating, avoiding school, avoiding the gym – all actions.

As the apostle Paul wrote in Romans 17:9, “I want to do what is good, but I don’t. I don’t want to do what is wrong, but I do it anyway.” I was “stuck” in this place for most of my young adult life, thinking that I “could not” do anything to change things. I thought my actions did not matter or make any difference. But that was a lie! The truth, that I learned when I began attending Celebrate Recovery, was that there was a particular action – a crucial shift – that I needed to make in order to gain the power I needed to improve all of my actions.

You see, as Principle 3 states, I must “Consciously choose to commit all my life and will to Christ’s care and control.” This is an action! It requires will; it is a physical and mental act. It fits every definition of the word – ACTION. Until I did this, I felt powerless, and always chose the wrong action. But, once I finally got this through my head, and I surrendered completely to God – took the action of committing my whole life and will to Him – everything changed! Each little choice became easier, as I was empowered by the Holy Spirit to take more and more action. Philippians 2:13 expresses it perfectly, “For God is working in you, giving you the desire and power to do what pleases Him.” After this crucial action was taken, all of the others took on new meaning and significance.

So I encourage you today. If you have not ever taken the ACTION of accepting Jesus Christ as your personal Lord and Savior, please do so today! If you have wandered from your faith and are struggling to choose the right actions, take the step today to recommit yourself, your will, all of you – to Him. I promise, you won’t regret it. It’s time to get up and take ACTION!

Jenna