Responsibility in Recovery

28 Nov

In our recovery we learn to accept direction from the Lord. He is the power behind our recovery. He purposes our recovery for the glory of His name. He intends that His power be displayed in our lives of obedience and freedom.

As recovering persons, we are responsible first to God to maintain our sobriety with His help and by His grace. We are evidence of His grace and mercy, His power and might, His always extended hand of help offering another chance. When we fail, His reputation is tarnished. Just the thought of that ought to keep us in recovery. And it would, I expect, if we didn’t so easily forget, if we weren’t so often distracted by our desire for immediate gratification. Nevertheless, this is our responsibility to God: obedient sobriety.

We are furthermore responsible to our fellows in recovery. They look to us as those who may be a step or two further along the path in our recovery. They think, “If they can make it, so can I.” When we fail to maintain and grow our recovery, there are consequences in the lives of those around us who look to us as examples. We may serve as a sponsor, an accountability partner, or just as someone who shows up every week to stay on track. Whatever our part, it is a public one. People are watching us, hoping for hope. Let’s be sure we keep them in mind when we decide how we will act or what we will do.

I often wonder why people come to Celebrate Recovery , hang out with us for awhile, maybe complete a step study, and then disappear. I wonder, “Did they get it?” I don’t know if they did or not. What I do know is that they removed themselves from the opportunity to give hope to others by their continuing attention to their personal recovery in context with others who are recovering. God wants us to serve Him. No Christian is without that obligation and responsibility. My encouragement to you is that you choose to serve Him in CR where you are known for your struggles and for your obedience. By doing that, you become God’s instrument in providing hope for those who struggle with hopelessness.

Karen

2 Responses to “Responsibility in Recovery”

  1. Robert November 29, 2011 at 11:33 am #

    Hi Karen! I love your blog and am frequently blessed when I receive updates. However, I am a bit saddened by this particular one. Nothing personal, but it really stepped on my toes. I have been in and out of recovery for about 20 years. The thing that kept me from sobriety for so long was the belief that I had to be clean to be in recovery. So upon failing, I always left the program. I felt so guilty that I could not face the others in my meetings. So I ran back into the arms of drugs and alcohol. Well, I have now found C.R.! And thank God for it. I am finally home. But years in sin’s prison have left me very addicted and although I am making progress in my recovery through a growing relationship with my Higher Power, Jesus Christ, I am still enslaved to chemicals. I am learning why in recovery and gaining strength and true friends that can help and encourage me in my growth. But I am not sober. I try and fail to stay clean at this moment. I look to a time when I will be free of my bondage. But for now I rest in the arms of my accepting Savior. In love, Robert

    • Karen L White December 3, 2011 at 1:03 pm #

      Thanks for your response, Robert. Addiction is so very pernicious. I know, because I have been there myself. We do make progress and fail over and over again. The thing is, though, that Jesus Christ offers us His healing power. His healing power enables us to become less and less addicted, more and more able to say “no” to temptation. He does definitely intend that we find healing. He doesn’t want us to settle for off again on again recovery, but to progress in recovery toward the end of complete healing. For each of us the process is personal and individual. But it is a process toward a goal. I am glad you are making progress through your growing relationship with Jesus, with the support of true friends in CR who hold you accountable, and a sponsor (I hope) who holds your feet to the fire. My blog was designed to help us all understand that there is a goal to recovery through Celebrate Recovery: healing and giving back. Every time you walk into a meeting you are an encouragement to someone else. That’s giving back. Every time you serve CR in some way, making things go smoothly at meetings or telling others about the ministry you have found that is helping you recover, you are giving back. Giving back is what Step 12/Principle 8 is all about. We’ll never be perfect. I know, for instance, that I will always be in recovery as long as I am alive on the earth. But I don’t give way to temptation as often as I used to in the various areas of my recovery. And my recovery issues are no longer tied to my former addiction. That is now in my past. So there is hope! 🙂 And my lack of perfection doesn’t keep me from giving back. I hope it won’t hinder you either. If you live in the Dallas area, it would be great to meet you one day at CR at First Baptist Dallas. Blessings, Karen

Leave a comment